It’s Dead Duck Day

As well as being World Environment Day, today is Dead Duck Day.

On 5 June 1995 an adult male mallard (Anas platyrhynchos) collided with the glass façade of the Natuurmuseum Rotterdam and died. Another drake mallard raped the corpse almost continuously for 75 minutes.

Then the author, Kees Moeliker, disturbed the scene and secured the dead duck. Dissection showed that the rape-victim indeed was of the male sex. It is concluded that the mallards were engaged in an ‘Attempted Rape Flight’ that resulted in the first described case of homosexual necrophilia in the mallard.

3 thoughts on “It’s Dead Duck Day

  1. I’m sure the first duck was overheard to say “I’d like to make a complaint…”

  2. Where do you get them from?

    I’m obviously spending a lot more time outside, getting things done slowly these days, & not net-surfing for strange stuff, but this one is truly astounding.

    If I hear an anthropologist using this to defend any human behaviour, I’m going to scream … 😉

  3. “If I hear an anthropologist using this to defend any human behaviour, I’m going to scream …”

    of course it shouldn’t be used to defend any human behaviour. Just like we would not say it’s morally wrong for humans to cook their food when every other animal eats raw food.

Leave a comment