Shooting yourself in the soot

I think it’s pretty obvious that the government’s advocacy on mining cheap1 and polluting lignite from National Parks is not something I’d support.

I’m curious to hear from our commenters on this though- can you think of an unqualified positive of mining for lignite in our National Parks? Do you trust the government to add equal or more conservation value to replace what it would ruin?2 And is this really about a straightforward stocktake, or are National just trying a cautious sell on selling off our national parks to industry?

1 In the “not going to sell for much anyway” sense.
2 Because I’m sure you’d all love to go for a walk in a coal mine in the middle of a national park.

4 thoughts on “Shooting yourself in the soot

  1. We’ve got plenty of gold to put in PCs already, I highly doubt it’s going to get much more expensive if we refuse to mine the limited quantities we might have in our national parks.

    I didn’t hear any talk of rare earth minerals either. 🙂

  2. I was thinking it would be better to keep it for future use rather than selling it to the highest bidder. Of course, I’m also thinking a couple of centuries ahead. Even the Greens, who seem to understand the idea of sustainability, seem to think there won’t be anyone here in a few generations.

    As the saying goes, Rare Earth minerals are misnamed, they’re neither rare nor earth. I saw a geological map of NZ a couple of years ago on one of the ministries websites (which I can’t find now :() and the range of stuff we have is quite diverse and there’s quite a bit of it. The gold in PCs was just an example.

  3. I was thinking it would be better to keep it for future use rather than selling it to the highest bidder. Of course, I’m also thinking a couple of centuries ahead. Even the Greens, who seem to understand the idea of sustainability, seem to think there won’t be anyone here in a few generations.

    I thought protecting the environment there kind of necessitated sitting on it, myself. As National seems intent on proving, if there’s ever political will to do it, we COULD potentiall mine the stuff. But why bother unless it’s going to pay for protection of even higher quality or quantity of conservation land?

    As the saying goes, Rare Earth minerals are misnamed, they’re neither rare nor earth. I saw a geological map of NZ a couple of years ago on one of the ministries websites (which I can’t find now 😦 ) and the range of stuff we have is quite diverse and there’s quite a bit of it. The gold in PCs was just an example.

    Right. It just seems kinda odd to discuss it if you’re saying we SHOULDN’T mine them, even if I do agree with you. 🙂 Especially as the best way to avoid the current government trying to hoover up resources is to make sure it doesn’t know they exist.

Leave a Reply

