Cycling in the Summer

I love cycling in the summer in Dunedin. The weather is stunning (mainly), the traffic (by Dunedin standards) absent and there is just something in the air. Around the holiday period one cycles into work at a respectable hour and the roads are nigh on deserted, of cars anyway. It is so much fun not having to worry about heavy traffic. The traffic has returned however, at least in the afternoons. The cyclists are out in force as well though and when you meet someone you know you can cycle alongside and have a yarn – much harder to do than encased in a metal can.  It must of made some car drivers sliding past smile however, to spot four cylcists grouped behind another. They were travelling at a more sedate pace. I wasn’t annoyed about a slight delay in my commute though. It would seem that my cycle frustrations seem confined to cars and pedistrians who invade/block the cycle path, and trucks for being so big, close, fast and therefore threatening.

5 thoughts on “Cycling in the Summer

  1. *ahem*

    neigh = horse saying hello

    nigh = near unto

    feel free to delete this after you decide which usage of english for the phoneme you had in mind is appropriate …

    😉

  2. \begin{ahem}
    Do I sense a BA?
    \end{ahem}

    Well it depends if you like horses or the end of stuff really. I’m all about the interpretive English.

  3. More likely: nay
    Adverb 1. (archaic) no.

    Also, nei, nej (pron. ney), and similar in Scandinavian languages.

    Interpretive language rocks my world. Don’t let the grammar Nazis get you myflathasmould.

  4. Yep, BA languages (not english), GDARTS in 2nd major (still not english)

    Grammar learnt while a student at a small country school where all the children got lots of individual attention from the sole charge teacher. Also, mother and grandmother both primary school teachers.

    Never had a chance to speak slang, with all that going on, did I? 😉

    Oh, and I was cycling right up until I nearly hurt myself seriously, around September this year; eventually passed my bike on to someone else more physically able than I, who is having a wonderful time with it this summer.

    I feel a twinge of nostalgia for the wind in my face, downhill-speed aspects, mitigated by the memory of the twinge in my shin from the last major off …
    I see happy, fit, energetic cyclists everywhere as I stroll around the city, & I smile as I remember the good times I’ve had with my bike.
    C’est la vie.

  5. Hmm,

    I also did the whole small rural school thing, I then did the whole computer thing and since moving away from Windows have not used grammar checkers – one thing I have never found a good open source tool for at least the last time I looked.

Leave a Reply

